mktinycorexo_nz.git
5 years agohack to write the new image before we customize master
Tom Parker [Thu, 13 Mar 2014 09:15:47 +0000 (22:15 +1300)]
hack to write the new image before we customize

5 years agofor some reason 13.3.0 for XO-4, customized (build 29) does not use a
Tom Parker [Thu, 13 Mar 2014 08:43:29 +0000 (21:43 +1300)]
for some reason 13.3.0 for XO-4, customized (build 29) does not use a
versioned filesystem. For now just hard-code it

5 years agoremove maori translation update as it's now included
Tom Parker [Sun, 9 Feb 2014 08:19:17 +0000 (21:19 +1300)]
remove maori translation update as it's now included

6 years agoadd extra activities
Tom Parker [Sun, 27 Oct 2013 01:24:33 +0000 (14:24 +1300)]
add extra activities

6 years agoadd script to make usb for nz
Tom Parker [Tue, 23 Jul 2013 11:00:10 +0000 (23:00 +1200)]
add script to make usb for nz

6 years agoremove system language as it's in the build
Tom Parker [Tue, 23 Jul 2013 10:52:50 +0000 (22:52 +1200)]
remove system language as it's in the build

6 years agoadd maori language pack
Tom Parker [Mon, 8 Jul 2013 09:03:26 +0000 (21:03 +1200)]
add maori language pack

6 years agouse correct way of setting defaults for olpc-configure
Tom Parker [Sun, 7 Jul 2013 08:13:49 +0000 (20:13 +1200)]
use correct way of setting defaults for olpc-configure

6 years agodon't copy the maori language as it's included in build 49
Tom Parker [Sun, 7 Jul 2013 07:47:15 +0000 (19:47 +1200)]
don't copy the maori language as it's included in build 49

6 years agomaori keyboard
Tom Parker [Sat, 6 Jul 2013 02:29:16 +0000 (14:29 +1200)]
maori keyboard

6 years agoactually copy the maori system language!
Tom Parker [Sat, 6 Jul 2013 02:28:53 +0000 (14:28 +1200)]
actually copy the maori system language!

6 years agomaori system language
Tom Parker [Sat, 6 Jul 2013 02:27:41 +0000 (14:27 +1200)]
maori system language

6 years agohack olpc-configure as well
Tom Parker [Sat, 6 Jul 2013 02:26:16 +0000 (14:26 +1200)]
hack olpc-configure as well

6 years agoset the other timezone
Tom Parker [Fri, 5 Jul 2013 12:20:24 +0000 (00:20 +1200)]
set the other timezone

6 years agocorrect sed command
Tom Parker [Fri, 5 Jul 2013 11:49:00 +0000 (23:49 +1200)]
correct sed command

6 years agocorrect name of localization file
Tom Parker [Fri, 5 Jul 2013 11:48:31 +0000 (23:48 +1200)]
correct name of localization file

6 years agocustomization scripts
Tom Parker [Fri, 5 Jul 2013 10:42:47 +0000 (22:42 +1200)]
customization scripts

6 years agosupport for XO-4 Touch
Tom Parker [Fri, 5 Jul 2013 11:48:02 +0000 (23:48 +1200)]
support for XO-4 Touch

6 years agoslightly better error message if XO is unsupported
Tom Parker [Fri, 5 Jul 2013 11:20:31 +0000 (23:20 +1200)]
slightly better error message if XO is unsupported

6 years agosupport for XO-4 HS Touch
Tom Parker [Fri, 5 Jul 2013 11:20:30 +0000 (23:20 +1200)]
support for XO-4 HS Touch

6 years agoHOWTO.xo-custom
James Cameron [Mon, 1 Jul 2013 07:59:18 +0000 (17:59 +1000)]
HOWTO.xo-custom

6 years agoHOWTO.xo-custom
James Cameron [Mon, 1 Jul 2013 06:47:37 +0000 (16:47 +1000)]
HOWTO.xo-custom

6 years agoInform the user about the GUI login option
mavrothal [Thu, 27 Jun 2013 15:25:33 +0000 (18:25 +0300)]
Inform the user about the GUI login option

Although the builder is informed how to get to the GUI when we build
--with-X, the user is not. Provide the info.

6 years agonew release
James Cameron [Tue, 25 Jun 2013 05:04:03 +0000 (15:04 +1000)]
new release

6 years agoHOWTO, kick builder version, change likely device name, reindent
James Cameron [Tue, 25 Jun 2013 05:03:37 +0000 (15:03 +1000)]
HOWTO, kick builder version, change likely device name, reindent

6 years agoudevadm settle, use --quiet instead of redirect
James Cameron [Tue, 25 Jun 2013 04:25:59 +0000 (14:25 +1000)]
udevadm settle, use --quiet instead of redirect

6 years agokick version
James Cameron [Tue, 25 Jun 2013 03:15:04 +0000 (13:15 +1000)]
kick version

6 years agomove contributors beyond license, add contributor list
James Cameron [Tue, 25 Jun 2013 02:31:31 +0000 (12:31 +1000)]
move contributors beyond license, add contributor list

6 years agoxo-custom: fix permission denied during boot
James Cameron [Tue, 25 Jun 2013 01:30:06 +0000 (11:30 +1000)]
xo-custom: fix permission denied during boot

6 years agoWorkaround for inconstant GUI X start in XO-1.5
mavrothal [Mon, 24 Jun 2013 08:43:34 +0000 (11:43 +0300)]
Workaround for inconstant GUI X start in XO-1.5

waitforX program does not interact well with the chrome video driver.
Jon Nettleton indicated that "sleep 5" works OK. It does, and is also OK with
the XO-1 and XO-1.75. Implement till this is solved properly.

6 years agoDo not hard-code "tc" user
mavrothal [Mon, 24 Jun 2013 08:40:33 +0000 (11:40 +0300)]
Do not hard-code "tc" user

Deployments or users may want a different GUI user than the default.

6 years agoreview comments for customisation stick port
James Cameron [Tue, 25 Jun 2013 00:55:25 +0000 (10:55 +1000)]
review comments for customisation stick port

6 years agoPort of OLPC customization stick
Jerry Vonau [Tue, 25 Jun 2013 00:54:29 +0000 (10:54 +1000)]
Port of OLPC customization stick

6 years agoPort of OLPC customization stick
Jerry Vonau [Tue, 25 Jun 2013 00:42:09 +0000 (10:42 +1000)]
Port of OLPC customization stick

6 years agoImprove GUI for ARM XOs
mavrothal [Mon, 17 Jun 2013 05:02:52 +0000 (08:02 +0300)]
Improve GUI for ARM XOs

Add xo-arm specific extensions.
TODO:
Does not work when we have the extension in device and rename them
because tcz.installed scripts do not run properly
Arrowkeys and game keys are not recognised. Probably needs udev or
a specific xorg.conf entry
Power mamangement is not working, because olpc-kbdshim needs udev
which is not available in armv6/7 TC.

6 years agoOption to build GUI for ARM XOs
mavrothal [Thu, 13 Jun 2013 13:49:31 +0000 (16:49 +0300)]
Option to build GUI for ARM XOs

6 years agoMake tce "think" we run a TC kernel, GUI independent
mavrothal [Tue, 11 Jun 2013 11:00:13 +0000 (14:00 +0300)]
Make tce "think" we run a TC kernel, GUI independent

Extensions with kernel reference could be downloaded regardless
if we have a build with a GUI.

6 years agocorrect --with-X case
mavrothal [Tue, 11 Jun 2013 10:54:54 +0000 (13:54 +0300)]
correct --with-X case

6 years agoAdd compatibility with very old firmware versions
James Cameron [Tue, 11 Jun 2013 08:11:56 +0000 (18:11 +1000)]
Add compatibility with very old firmware versions

6 years agokick version
James Cameron [Tue, 11 Jun 2013 07:58:24 +0000 (17:58 +1000)]
kick version

6 years agoReplace openbox with flwm
mavrothal [Sun, 9 Jun 2013 10:46:19 +0000 (13:46 +0300)]
Replace openbox with flwm

Use a simple and minimal window manager when building with a GUI
to keep the build as small as possible. No need to be fancy.

6 years agoAdd timezone information
mavrothal [Sun, 9 Jun 2013 10:32:07 +0000 (13:32 +0300)]
Add timezone information

Add the option to set local time. May be useful resurrecting
long unused XOs. Useful when building with a GUI

6 years agoProvide some feedback when loading the tcz extensions
mavrothal [Sat, 8 Jun 2013 17:20:04 +0000 (20:20 +0300)]
Provide some feedback when loading the tcz extensions

Loading tcz extensions can take considerable time. Specially on
the XO-1 in builds with GUI. Some feedback will ensure users that
the XO is not hung

6 years agoClean up and modify the GUI tcz list
mavrothal [Sat, 8 Jun 2013 15:23:42 +0000 (18:23 +0300)]
Clean up and modify the GUI tcz list

6 years agoFix gamekeys. Move GUI mods at the end of the initrd modification
mavrothal [Sat, 8 Jun 2013 07:19:53 +0000 (10:19 +0300)]
Fix gamekeys. Move GUI mods at the end of the initrd modification

The XO-1, and XO-1.5 game keys are not recognized properly.
Till this is fixed tell .xsession to run xmodmap.
xo-pm.tcz defines now the gamekeys in ~/.Xmodmap.
The section is moved to the end of the initrd modification
so the  sleep step will run last in bootlocal.sh

6 years agoCheck for GUI after all arguments have been processed
mavrothal [Fri, 7 Jun 2013 13:36:31 +0000 (16:36 +0300)]
Check for GUI after all arguments have been processed

If the --with-X argument is given before the model argument the script
will exit but it should not.
example: mktinycorexo --none --with-X --add-xo-1

6 years agoDefine TREE to add "tell serial shell user we are ready"
mavrothal [Fri, 7 Jun 2013 06:14:13 +0000 (09:14 +0300)]
Define TREE to add "tell serial shell user we are ready"

6 years agosimplify use of patch
James Cameron [Fri, 7 Jun 2013 01:54:02 +0000 (11:54 +1000)]
simplify use of patch

6 years agostart with lower case letter, as it is still part of the same sentence
James Cameron [Fri, 7 Jun 2013 01:53:50 +0000 (11:53 +1000)]
start with lower case letter, as it is still part of the same sentence

6 years agoreword gui warning
James Cameron [Fri, 7 Jun 2013 01:53:05 +0000 (11:53 +1000)]
reword gui warning

6 years agoExit if we try to build a GUI when not available. Warn if mixed.
mavrothal [Wed, 5 Jun 2013 22:29:49 +0000 (01:29 +0300)]
Exit if we try to build a GUI when not available. Warn if mixed.

Bail out if a build with a GUI is attempted when not available for the
XO versions that are currently build. Put up a long colorful warning if
both GUI-capable and GUI-non-capable XO versions are build simultaneously.

6 years agoPatch tce-load to recognize out '_a.tcz' extensions as the originals
mavrothal [Wed, 5 Jun 2013 21:46:03 +0000 (00:46 +0300)]
Patch tce-load to recognize out '_a.tcz' extensions as the originals

When we install extension in "device", we rename the arm extension to
*_a.tcz. These extensions are seen as different from the originals by
the tce-load program and are re-downloaded if they appear as dependencies
in another package.

6 years agoProvide feedback during tcz downloads
mavrothal [Wed, 5 Jun 2013 21:37:34 +0000 (00:37 +0300)]
Provide feedback during tcz downloads

ibiblio is very slow. Building the cache for the first time may take
few minutes! Without some feedback people may just abort.

6 years agoRemove kernel reference from all extensions in cde (for real this time)
mavrothal [Wed, 5 Jun 2013 21:31:54 +0000 (00:31 +0300)]
Remove kernel reference from all extensions in cde (for real this time)

6 years agoreview, fix indentation, by rewriting this sequence
James Cameron [Wed, 5 Jun 2013 07:15:32 +0000 (17:15 +1000)]
review, fix indentation, by rewriting this sequence

6 years agoreview, revert a change that would not work on --none --add-xo-4 builds
James Cameron [Wed, 5 Jun 2013 07:14:20 +0000 (17:14 +1000)]
review, revert a change that would not work on --none --add-xo-4 builds

The x86 specific code was added outside the if-then that handled x86
specific tasks.

6 years agoreview, fix indentation again
James Cameron [Wed, 5 Jun 2013 07:13:00 +0000 (17:13 +1000)]
review, fix indentation again

6 years agoMake tce think we are armv6
mavrothal [Tue, 4 Jun 2013 20:40:05 +0000 (23:40 +0300)]
Make tce think we are armv6

The tinycore armv7 repo is almost empty. Make tce-load think that
this is an armv6l build till the TC repo becomes more essential.
We build with armv6 binaries mostly, anyway

6 years agoRemove kernel reference from all extensions in cde
mavrothal [Tue, 4 Jun 2013 19:05:01 +0000 (22:05 +0300)]
Remove kernel reference from all extensions in cde

6 years agoPower management extension for the x86 XOs
mavrothal [Tue, 4 Jun 2013 19:02:46 +0000 (22:02 +0300)]
Power management extension for the x86 XOs

powerd and olpc-kbdshim from the OLPC repo where compiled and
packaged into a tcz with tce.install script to start them.

6 years agoMove XO-1.5 xorg.conf setup to the xf86-video-chrome.tcz
mavrothal [Tue, 4 Jun 2013 19:00:28 +0000 (22:00 +0300)]
Move XO-1.5 xorg.conf setup to the xf86-video-chrome.tcz

Use the script in the tce.installed folder of the tcz to
setup xorg.conf for the XO-1.5

6 years agoRepo for XO-specific TCZs
mavrothal [Tue, 4 Jun 2013 18:56:50 +0000 (21:56 +0300)]
Repo for XO-specific TCZs

We need a repo for XO specific TCZs like the chrome video
driver or power management. Use the one from "TinyCore_for_XO1"
hosted but the UoC computer center linux mirror.

6 years agokick version
James Cameron [Wed, 5 Jun 2013 06:19:21 +0000 (16:19 +1000)]
kick version

6 years agobootlocal.sh, serial support, tell user to hit enter
James Cameron [Wed, 5 Jun 2013 06:17:21 +0000 (16:17 +1000)]
bootlocal.sh, serial support, tell user to hit enter

The getty supplied by upstream does not have any suggestion to press
enter for a shell, so we say so as the last step in bootlocal.sh
... the serial port is identified using the kernel command line.

6 years agobootlocal.sh, simplify network startup
James Cameron [Wed, 5 Jun 2013 06:10:44 +0000 (16:10 +1000)]
bootlocal.sh, simplify network startup

Network startup for a USB Ethernet adapter is properly handled already
by the upstream scripts, but they depend on a network interface name
of eth0.

This patch simplifies the bringup of the wireless network interfaces
provided by the OLPC kernel.

6 years agobootlocal.sh, add consistent spacing
James Cameron [Wed, 5 Jun 2013 05:57:46 +0000 (15:57 +1000)]
bootlocal.sh, add consistent spacing

6 years agodocument variable naming convention
James Cameron [Wed, 5 Jun 2013 05:56:34 +0000 (15:56 +1000)]
document variable naming convention

6 years agotidy message output
James Cameron [Wed, 5 Jun 2013 05:56:10 +0000 (15:56 +1000)]
tidy message output

The messages emitted by the script were not consistent in the use of
ellipsis.

6 years agofix serial console shell
James Cameron [Wed, 5 Jun 2013 05:55:32 +0000 (15:55 +1000)]
fix serial console shell

A previous change had broken the getty by referring to a device name
that did not exist.  Change from ttys0 to ttyS0.

6 years agofix spelling of upstream
James Cameron [Wed, 5 Jun 2013 05:54:43 +0000 (15:54 +1000)]
fix spelling of upstream

The upstream project name is Tiny Core Linux, not Tinycore.

6 years agoxo-revert, accept additional options and pass to rsync
James Cameron [Wed, 5 Jun 2013 05:53:28 +0000 (15:53 +1000)]
xo-revert, accept additional options and pass to rsync

Sometimes it is useful to see more detail about the operation, and so
the user can add --progress --partial --verbose to the end of the
command.  Tested on 2013-06-05.

6 years agoxo-server, obtain the ip address from any available interface
James Cameron [Wed, 5 Jun 2013 05:51:47 +0000 (15:51 +1000)]
xo-server, obtain the ip address from any available interface

6 years agokick version number
James Cameron [Tue, 4 Jun 2013 05:11:39 +0000 (15:11 +1000)]
kick version number

6 years agofix get_initrd, it was using wrong patch when --cache was missing
James Cameron [Tue, 4 Jun 2013 05:03:38 +0000 (15:03 +1000)]
fix get_initrd, it was using wrong patch when --cache was missing

6 years agoadd missing default for new option
James Cameron [Tue, 4 Jun 2013 05:03:22 +0000 (15:03 +1000)]
add missing default for new option

6 years agomove TCZLOC out of user options into configuration options
James Cameron [Tue, 4 Jun 2013 05:03:10 +0000 (15:03 +1000)]
move TCZLOC out of user options into configuration options

6 years agomore tabs to spaces
James Cameron [Tue, 4 Jun 2013 04:50:02 +0000 (14:50 +1000)]
more tabs to spaces

6 years agosimplify x86 packages fetch
James Cameron [Tue, 4 Jun 2013 04:28:43 +0000 (14:28 +1000)]
simplify x86 packages fetch

6 years agosimplify logic for initrd fetch
James Cameron [Tue, 4 Jun 2013 04:10:07 +0000 (14:10 +1000)]
simplify logic for initrd fetch

6 years agoreview, fix indentation and tabs
James Cameron [Tue, 4 Jun 2013 03:44:18 +0000 (13:44 +1000)]
review, fix indentation and tabs

6 years agoAdd sound support. Pretty the GUI. Hide our kernel from tce scripts
mavrothal [Sun, 2 Jun 2013 19:46:09 +0000 (22:46 +0300)]
Add sound support. Pretty the GUI. Hide our kernel from tce scripts

6 years agoAdd the option to build a system with a GUI (XO-1 and XO-1.5 only)
mavrothal [Sun, 2 Jun 2013 14:04:12 +0000 (17:04 +0300)]
Add the option to build a system with a GUI (XO-1 and XO-1.5 only)

6 years agoCopy only the TC extensions we actually use (we may have many more)
mavrothal [Sun, 2 Jun 2013 13:22:56 +0000 (16:22 +0300)]
Copy only the TC extensions we actually use (we may have many more)

6 years agoGet TC extensions only only for the architecture we build
mavrothal [Sun, 2 Jun 2013 09:43:38 +0000 (12:43 +0300)]
Get TC extensions only only for the architecture we build

6 years agomove CMDLINE after the run options (otherwise KERCMDLINE does not work)
mavrothal [Sun, 2 Jun 2013 09:37:15 +0000 (12:37 +0300)]
move CMDLINE after the run options (otherwise KERCMDLINE does not work)

6 years agoCopy the correct ARM extensions to cde
mavrothal [Sun, 2 Jun 2013 09:19:34 +0000 (12:19 +0300)]
Copy the correct ARM extensions to cde

6 years agoDefault to CACHE=no
mavrothal [Sat, 1 Jun 2013 18:13:52 +0000 (21:13 +0300)]
Default to CACHE=no

6 years agoCheck also the Tinicore linux files when running with the --no-cache option
mavrothal [Sat, 1 Jun 2013 18:10:55 +0000 (21:10 +0300)]
Check also the Tinicore linux files when running with the --no-cache option

6 years agokick version
James Cameron [Sat, 1 Jun 2013 03:53:23 +0000 (13:53 +1000)]
kick version

6 years agorewrite usage, deprecate --no-$MODEL style options
James Cameron [Sat, 1 Jun 2013 03:53:16 +0000 (13:53 +1000)]
rewrite usage, deprecate --no-$MODEL style options

6 years agoimprove readability by using variables in commands, as used later
James Cameron [Sat, 1 Jun 2013 03:52:56 +0000 (13:52 +1000)]
improve readability by using variables in commands, as used later

6 years agostyle consistency, use $( ) rather than backtick
James Cameron [Sat, 1 Jun 2013 03:52:21 +0000 (13:52 +1000)]
style consistency, use $( ) rather than backtick

6 years agofix indenting and wrap commands greater than standard terminal width
James Cameron [Sat, 1 Jun 2013 03:51:48 +0000 (13:51 +1000)]
fix indenting and wrap commands greater than standard terminal width

6 years agoCorrect --colour information
mavrothal [Fri, 31 May 2013 15:20:09 +0000 (18:20 +0300)]
Correct --colour information

6 years agoWe now default to tczloc in initrd. We do not need the location dialog.
mavrothal [Fri, 31 May 2013 15:15:13 +0000 (18:15 +0300)]
We now default to tczloc in initrd. We do not need the location dialog.

6 years agoWarn if tczloc and essid are given without values
mavrothal [Fri, 31 May 2013 14:59:51 +0000 (17:59 +0300)]
Warn if tczloc and essid are given without values

6 years agofix colour of essid message, remove comment after verifying xo-1 automatically connec...
James Cameron [Fri, 31 May 2013 06:03:37 +0000 (16:03 +1000)]
fix colour of essid message, remove comment after verifying xo-1 automatically connects to wireless

6 years agoterminology, directory not folder
James Cameron [Fri, 31 May 2013 06:03:03 +0000 (16:03 +1000)]
terminology, directory not folder

6 years agoswitch upstream build and kernel versions
James Cameron [Fri, 31 May 2013 06:02:47 +0000 (16:02 +1000)]
switch upstream build and kernel versions

6 years agopreload rsync cache in case system does not have versions matching build
James Cameron [Fri, 31 May 2013 05:23:08 +0000 (15:23 +1000)]
preload rsync cache in case system does not have versions matching build